How can I as a patient get involved?
There are several things you can do as a patient to help advance our cause. First and foremost, contact your legislator and let them know how you feel! We also would love to join you in meeting them in Annapolis! Second, Donate! Your dollars help us change hearts and minds down in the Statehouse. Finally, talk about us and share us on social media! Help us reach more patients like you!
What is the average price of medical cannabis at a dispensary?
Flowers are going on average 440-672 an ounce, concentrates are not yet available for purchase really. They only offer it in .5 gram vape cartridges that cost between 75-95 dollars. Also most dispensaries won’t let you purchase your monthly supply at once.
How do I obtain medical cannabis in Maryland legally?
Step 1: Register as a patient with MMCC
When the Patient Registry opens in April 2017, patients must first register.
- Adult Patients (18+ years of age):
To prepare for registration, please review the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card for registering as a patient.Please note: Any non-Maryland resident currently in Maryland for the purpose of receiving medical treatment is eligible to register as a patient and, during registration, will be required to provide the address of and a contact name for the Maryland medical facility where the patient is receiving treatment.
- Minor Patients (Under 18 years of age):
Minor patients are required to have at least one caregiver assigned to their accounts at all times. Only parents or legal guardians 21 years of age and older are eligible to serve as caregivers for minor patients.Please note: Any non-Maryland resident currently in Maryland for the purpose of receiving medical treatment is eligible to register as a patient and, during registration, will be required to provide the address of and a contact name for the Maryland medical facility where the patient is receiving treatment.Caregivers must register with the Commission prior to registering the minor patient. Registering a minor patient requires additional forms, one of which must be notarized, so please review carefully the requirements in the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card documents for registering a minor patient.For additional information on caregivers, please visit the Caregivers page and review the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card documents for registering as a caregiver.
Step 2: Obtain a written certification from a provider registered with the Commission
Once registered, patients must obtain a valid written certification from a provider registered with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. The patient is required by law to have a bona fide provider-patient relationship with the provider and the provider must approve medical cannabis as a treatment option for the patient for a qualifying medical condition. Qualifying medical conditions include cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder and chronic pain.
The Provider Registry is open and the Commission encourages providers to register. Any provider with an active, unrestricted license in good standing with the Maryland State Board of Physicians and actively registered to prescribe controlled substances in Maryland is eligible to register with MMCC.
When both the patient and provider are registered with MMCC, the provider will need the patient’s MMCC-issued Patient ID Number to issue the certification for medical cannabis through the Commission’s secure online application.
You can find information on providers who recommend cannabis for treatment of qualifying patients at http://www.medchi.org/
Step 3: Visit a licensed Maryland dispensary
After registering and obtaining a valid written certification from a registered provider, patients are able to visit licensed Maryland dispensaries to purchase medical cannabis.
When purchasing medical cannabis at a dispensary, patients will be required to present their valid US government-issued photo ID (or MMCC ID card; please see Step 4 below for information about obtaining an ID card). The dispensary agent will verify the patient’s certification in the Commission’s database before conducting any transaction.
Once established and licensed, the list of licensed Maryland dispensaries and their locations will be published on this website. Patients may only purchase and obtain a maximum of a thirty-day supply of medical cannabis at one time. Please note: Once medical cannabis becomes available in the State of Maryland, a certification that is not used to purchase medical cannabis within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void.
Step 4: (Optional): Purchase ID Card (Fee: $50)
Registered patients who have obtained valid written certifications from registered providers are eligible to purchase an ID card from MMCC for a fee of $50, if they choose. Patient ID cards are optional and are currently not required in order for patients to participate in the program.